Hot Eats and Cool Reads

Jul 21, 2016

Sparkling Sorbet Floats Recipe

A refreshing and delicious non alcoholic beverage that the whole family can enjoy! Perfect for hot days, or serve at your next party! Even the kiddos birthday parties!

A refreshing and delicious non alcoholic beverage that the whole family can enjoy! Perfect for hot days, or serve at your next party! Even the kiddos birthday parties! Sparkling Sorbet Floats Recipe from Hot Eats and Cool Reads


Remember that Blueberry Rhubarb Sorbet I made last month?? Today's recipe uses that, along with some fresh fruit and lemon lime soda for an amazing, kid friendly beverage!

Jul 17, 2016

Blackberry Banana Quick Bread Recipe

This post contains affiliate links. Thanks for your support!

Great for breakfast or snack! Perfect for using ripe bananas and delicious with the bites of fresh blackberries!

Great for breakfast or snack! Perfect for using ripe bananas and delicious with the bites of fresh blackberries! Blackberry Banana Quick Bread Recipe from Hot Eats and Cool Reads



Banana bread is one of those comfort foods from my childhood! I always looked forward to the rare day when we had ripe bananas and my Mom whipped up a batch of homemade banana bread.

Now, I look forward to doing the same for my daughter! I just can't make plain banana bread though.

Jul 7, 2016

Beefy Black Bean Enchilada Bake Recipe

A delicious family friendly and budget friendly Mexican meal! Great for weeknights and leftover for lunch!

A delicious family friendly and budget friendly Mexican meal! Great for weeknights and leftover for lunch! Beefy Black Bean Enchilada Bake Recipe from Hot Eats and Cool Reads



I hope everyone had a happy and safe 4th of July! I decided to take a break and skip posting over the holiday weekend!

We took a fun trip to Mankato to visit my sister for part of the weekend! It was a blast!

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton plus Giveaway!

This post is brought to you in partnership with Redhook!

I'm back with another bookish post for you today! Yay!


Baby Doll by Hollie Overton!

It's an edge of your seat thriller and you can enter the giveaway for a chance to win a hard cover copy for yourself!

Thriller books are a favorite of mine and I just started reading my copy of this last night! I made it to page 70 in the first sitting and so far it's an interesting and easy read!

I'm sure I'll be done within the next couple days, and I'll come back and add my thoughts about the rest of the book!

You can find Baby Doll in stores on July 12th and pre-order your copy online today!

Thanks to the publisher for the giveaway in this post! You can enter in the widget below to win a hardcover copy of the book for yourself!

I know I love free books, so I hope you'll enter for a chance to win! Good luck!



About the book:

Escape was just the beginning.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison.

Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next... to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter—and to her captor.

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, BABY DOLL is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

For more info or to purchase the book click here!

About the author:

*credit: Heather Overton*

A tense, unique psychological thriller, Baby Doll is a remarkable first novel from TV writer Hollie Overton, who has worked Cold Case, The Client List, and the new Shadowhunters on ABC Family.

Debut author Hollie Overton was raised by her single mother, and Hollie—an identical twin herself—draws on her unique childhood experiences for her first novel, Baby Doll.

Overton's father was a member of the notorious Overton gang in Austin, Texas, and spent several years in prison for manslaughter. Hollie is a television writer and resides in Los Angeles.

Learn more:

Visit Hollie Overton’s official website here!

Follow Hollie Overton on Twitter here or Facebook here!


Other posts you may enjoy:

Jun 29, 2016

No Bake Creamy Strawberry Pie Recipe plus 9 Other No Bake Desserts!

Perfect summertime dessert! Also great with peach, orange, raspberry, lime, lemon and cherry!

Perfect summertime dessert! Also great with peach, orange, raspberry, lime, lemon and cherry! No Bake Creamy Strawberry Pie Recipe from Hot Eats and Cool Reads



Summer is my favorite foodie time of the year!

We are HUGE berry lovers at our house, and the abundance of fresh garden berries is my idea of heaven!